With a subtle innovation, UP-site is located in the heart of Brussels, along the Willebroek canal, opposite the Tour &Taxis site, in one of the most buoyant district of the Capital of Europe. With the  highest residential tower in Belgium offering an exceptional view on the city, buildings-terraces and its office complex, the UP-site project is emblematic in more than one respect.

Officially inaugurated in June 2014, the UP-site Tower has become the symbol of the redevelopment of the Canal district.

Urban diversity alongside the canal

Located in a rapidly changing district, UP-site revolves around three distinct entities: a Tower 140 meters high with an iconic architectural design, a Building-Terrace complex to the classic template, and an office complex consisting of 4 buildings.
A promenade along the banks  also offers shops and neighbourhood facilities designed to contribute to the new dynamics of the district.

Services for urban living comfort

UP-site is also a place to live adapted to active city dwellers. Residents of the Tower enjoy a range of services designed to facilitate their life: a concierge available  14 hours a day, a private cinema, a playroom for children, a Spa & Wellness Center, indoor gardens, private parking spaces... The UP-site Tower also houses a crèche and soon a second restaurant.

Stunning views

 Entering an UP-site apartment is a unique experience. Every apartment has large bay windows and one or more terraces opening out onto the most outstanding view of the capital.

The role of water

Boasting a superb green walk along the canal, UP-site also aims at giving back to water the role it deserves in the city. Completely redeveloped, the nearby Port of Brussels will add its contribution to the new aesthetic of the area.  

In the heart of the city in a district undergoing a complete redevelopment 

Located in an area marked by a rich industrial past (Tour &Taxis site, Citroën buildings, Port of Brussels,...) and a cultural hub in full swing, the redevelopment of this area aims at creating an urban East-West axis and converting the former industrial zone into a large scale mixed urban complex. The revitalization of the district has only just started, as evidenced by the many projects thriving in the district: prestigious MoMa which will soon move into the Citroën buildings, art galleries, boutiques, the future Tour &Taxis park …   

Accessibility and soft mobility

With a particularly easy accessibility by car (via the Ring), in the immediate proximity of the Gare du Nord (a few minutes’ walk or by bike) and a bus stop at the foot of the site, this residential area takes into account all the contingencies related to sustainable mobility. 

Social and sustainable priorities

UP-site combines diversity, density, user-friendliness and architectural quality and also focuses on innovative and effective sustainable development techniques. With this in mind, the designers opted for including the recovery of rainwater, the insulation of exterior walls, the cogeneration to meet most of the electricity needs, the use of thermal capacity of the canal water and the installation of green roofs suitable for the thermal and acoustic insulation of the buildings.

Rational energy management

Attentive to sustainable energy management, the project benefits from the efficiency of new technical office/home synergies. Designed according to the most demanding sustainable standards, the apartments will generate a 45% energy saving compared to standard. The orientation of the tower was also  studied to avoid wind nuisance (noise, air currents) or sunlight (shadow). 


Location
Between the quai des Péniches, place des Armateurs and the quai de Willebroek, Brussels,

Project
Mixed complex of housing, shops and offices

Owner
Atenor S.A. and its subsidiaries

Project manager
BUILD UP s.a.

Dimensions
Apartments: Tower: 39 800 m² - Terraces-Apartments: 13 275 m² - Offices: 29 690 m² - Retail areas: 1 650 m²

Architects
Ateliers Lion Architectes - Urbanistes (Paris) and A2RC Architects (Brussels)

General contractor
Association Momentanée BPC - Valens

Start of work
Asbestos removal and demolition: 2008 / Start of infrastructure work: July 2010

End of work
Offices: December 2013 /Apartments: January 2014 (Les Terrasses) and June 2014 (Tower)

 

Project Director
Olivier Hanocq, for Scodim scs

D’un avant-gardisme subtil, UP-site est implanté au cœur de Bruxelles, le long du canal de Willebroek, face au site de Tour & Taxis, dans un quartier en plein renouveau. Avec sa Tour résidentielle la plus haute de Belgique offrant une vue exceptionnelle sur la ville, ses Immeubles-Terrasses et son complexe de bureaux, le projet UP-site est emblématique à plus d'un titre.

Officiellement inaugurée en juin 2014, la Tour UP-site, la plus haute tour résidentielle de Belgique, est devenue le symbole du renouveau du quartier du Canal.

Mixité urbaine en bord de canal

Implanté dans un quartier en pleine mutation, UP-site s’articule autour de trois entités distinctes: une Tour de 140 mètres de haut à la conception architecturale emblématique, un ensemble d’Immeubles-Terrasses au gabarit plus classique, un complexe de bureaux composé de 4 bâtiments.
Une promenade aménagée le long des berges accueille des commerces et des équipements de proximité conçus pour contribuer à la nouvelle dynamique du quartier.

Des services pour un confort de vie urbain

UP-site c’est aussi un lieu de vie adapté aux citadins actifs. Les résidents de la Tour bénéficient de toute une série de services destinés à leur faciliter la vie : une conciergerie accessible 14h/24, une salle de cinéma privée, une salle de jeux pour enfants, un Spa & Wellness Center, des jardins intérieurs, des parkings privés … La Tour UP-site accueille aussi une crèche et bientôt un deuxième restaurant.

Des vues imprenables

Pousser la porte d’un appartement UP-site constitue une expérience mémorable car tous bénéficient de larges baies vitrées et d’une ou plusieurs terrasses s’ouvrant sur la vue la plus exceptionnelle jamais offerte sur la capitale.

La part de l’eau

Doté d’une superbe promenade verte le long du canal, UP-site vise également à redonner à l’élément eau le rôle qu’il mérite dans la cité. Entièrement réaménagé, le Port de Bruxelles tout proche apportera sa pierre à la nouvelle esthétique du quartier.  

Au cœur de la ville dans un quartier en plein redéveloppement 

Implanté dans un quartier marqué par un riche passé industriel (site Tour & Taxis, bâtiments Citroën, Port de Bruxelles, ...) et un pôle culturel en plein essor, la réhabilitation de cette zone vise la création d'un axe urbain est-ouest et la reconversion de l'ancien tissu industriel en un ensemble urbain mixte d'envergure. La redynamisation  du quartier  ne fait que démarrer comme en témoignent les nombreux projets florissant dans le quartier : le prestigieux MoMa qui investira les bâtiments Citroën, les galeries d’art, les boutiques, le futur parc de Tour & Taxis…   

Accessibilité et mobilité douce

Jouissant d'une accessibilité particulièrement aisée en voiture (via le Ring), de la proximité immédiate de la Gare du Nord (à quelques minutes à pied ou à vélo) et d'un arrêt de bus au pied du site, cette zone résidentielle tient compte de toutes les contingences liées à la mobilité durable. 

Priorités citoyennes et durables

UP-site conjugue mixité, densité, convivialité et qualité architecturale et met également l'accent sur les techniques de développement durable innovantes et efficaces. Dans cet esprit, les concepteurs ont notamment opté pour la récupération des eaux de pluie, l'isolation des parois extérieures, la cogénération assurant une partie des besoins en électricité, l'utilisation des capacités thermiques de l'eau du canal et la mise en place de toitures végétales propices à l'isolation thermique et acoustique des bâtiments.

Gestion rationnelle de l'énergie

Attentif à la gestion durable de l'énergie, le projet bénéficie de l'efficacité des nouvelles synergies techniques bureaux/logements. Conçu selon les normes durables les plus exigeantes, les appartements vont générer une économie d'énergie de 45% par rapport aux standards. L'orientation de la Tour a également été étudiée afin d'éviter les nuisances du vent (bruits, courants d'air) ou de l'ensoleillement (ombre portée). 


Situation
Entre le quai des Péniches, la place des Armateurs et le quai de Willebroek, Bruxelles,

Projet
Ensemble mixte de logements, commerces et bureaux

Propriétaire
Atenor S.A. et ses filiales

Maître d’ouvrage
Build UP s.a

Taille
Logements : Tour : 39 800 m² - Immeubles-terrasses : 13 275 m² - Bureaux : 29 690 m² - Surfaces commerciales : 1 650 m²

Architectes
Ateliers Lion Architectes - Urbanistes (Paris) et A2RC Architects (Bruxelles)

Entreprise Générale
Association Momentanée BPC - Valens

Début des travaux
Désamiantage et démolition : 2008 / Début des travaux d’infrastructure : juillet 2010

Fin des travaux
Bureaux : décembre 2013 / Logements : janvier 2014 (Les Terrasses) et juin 2014 (Tour)

 

Project Director

Olivier Hanocq for Scodim s.c.s.